Inland Firearms Training

Text Size

Firearms Safety Certificate

Effective January 1, 2015, the Handgun Safety Certificate program was replaced with the Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) program. Under the FSC program, requirements that previously applied to handguns only now apply to all firearms (handguns and long guns), unless exempt. A list of exemptions is listed below.

A valid Handgun Safety Certificate can still be used to purchase/acquire handguns only until it expires. For long gun purchases/acquisitions made January 1, 2015, and thereafter, an FSC will be required. Once an FSC is obtained, it can be used for both handgun and long gun purchases/acquisitions.

Firearm Safety Certificates are acquired by taking and passing a written test on firearm safety, generally at participating firearms dealerships and private firearms training facilities. A Firearm Safety Certificate Study Guide to help individuals prepare for the FSC test can be used to help you prepare for the test. A Firearm Safety webinar is also available for viewing or downloading - Webinar.

The State of California requires that all firearm purchasers show a Firearms Safety Certificate. The FSC is obtained by passing the 30-question written test with a minimum of a 75% score on the Handgun Safety Certificate Test covering firearm safety and the basic firearms laws.

The requirements for taking the Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) applicant must be at least 18 years of age and must present clear evidence of Identity and age by presenting a California Driver's License or California Department of Motor Vehicles Identification Card.

The firearm safety demonstration protocols and DOJ Certified Instructor standards have been established and implemented by DOJ. An explanation of the firearm safety demonstration can be found starting on page 12 of the Firearm Safety Certificate Study Guide. A spanish version is also available use to study with.

Inland Training offers the ability to take the California Firearm Safety Certification Test at the end of the Basic Handgun / Pistol Class for the fee of $25.00 in addition to the class. This Fee is a mandated fee set by the State of CA and is the same everywhere you would go to take the test. After taking one of our classes we have yet to have an individual not pass the test on first attempt or even receive lower than a 90% grade on the test.

Once you have passed the CA FSC Test you receive the Certification Card that is good for 5 years to purchase firearm in California 

If you are already prepared to take the California Firearm Safety Certification Test you may go to any Firearms Dealer and take the test at their location.  


THE NEXT STEP IS TAKE , The Basic Pistol Class. Either Class would be an excellent next step in enhancing your knowledge and skills in shooting and firearms safety. 

Below is some helpful information for you to obtain your Handgun Safety Certificate.  In order to obtain your (FSC) Contact Us for additional information or to schedule getting your FSC testing requirements completed.


Helpful Information:

A copy of the California Firearm Laws 2006 in .pdf

A copy of the NRA Synopsis of State Firearm Laws for California in .pdf


Firearms Safety Certificate Requirement Exemptions:

There are several FSC requirement exemptions. In addition to the previous Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) exemptions, a person issued a valid hunting license is exempt from the FSC requirement for long guns only. (Pen. Code, § 31700, subd. (c).)

    X01 = Special Weapons Permit Holder
    X02 = Operation of Law Representative
    X03 = Handgun being returned to the owner
    X13 = FFL collector with COE (curio and relic firearms only)
    X21 = Military - Active Duty
    X22 = Military - Reserve
    X25 = Military - Honorably Retired
    X31 = Peace Officer - California - Active
    X32 = Peace Officer - Federal - Active
    X33 = Peace Officer - California - Honorably Retired
    X34 = Peace Officer - California - Reserve
    X35 = Peace Officer - Federal - Honorably Retired
    X41 = Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit Holder
    X81 = P.O.S.T. 832 PC (Firearms) Training
    X91 = Particular and Limited Authority Peace Officers
    X95 = Law Enforcement Service Gun to Family Member
    X98 = Valid Hunting License (long guns only)