InlandTrainingLogoOct2014

Inland Firearms Training

Text Size

The End of the California CCW Nightmare?

           The End of the California CCW Nightmare?

 

On January 3rdRep. Hudson, Richard [R-NC-8], along with 58 original co-sponsors,  Introduced House Resolution H.R. 38.

The Bill is entitled The Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017. The text is available here: https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/38/text

But in a nutshell, it says that if:

  1. you have a CCW from a State (whether it’s your state or not makes no difference), or
  1. if you are authorized to carry concealed in your own state

(Arizona, for instance doesn’t issue CCWs to Arizona Residents – They have what’s called “Constitutional Carry”, meaning they are 
granted the right to carry just because they live there). Arizona issues CCWs to non-residents, as does Utah, Florida, and a few others 

Then you can carry in any other state.

90 days after it is passed and signed (and it WILL be), it will be federal law. In other words – If you have a Utah CCW, you can carry concealed in California AND THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA HAS NOTHING TO SAY ABOUT IT. Federal law Trumps state law.

Needless to say, our Utah CCW classes are running as full as you might expect (of course we’ll always save a spot for you) It takes about 2 or 3 hours and costs $100.